Hall of Fame reveals 122 nominees for '20 class

Ex-Jets Boomer Esiason Thomas Jones among Hall of Fame nominees

Ex-Jets Boomer Esiason Thomas Jones among Hall of Fame nominees

Hutchinson is the most likely candidate to make the Hall of Fame next year, having finished as a finalist in each of the last two seasons. The Modern Era covers all players that played after the 1970 season. Faneca played on the 2005 team.

Hanson retired in 2012 after 21 seasons with the Lions.

Abraham, who played only one season of high school football, ranks second all-time on SC sack list.

Brown played left tackle for the Lions between 1985 and 1995.

In his 11-year National Football League career - the first seven of which he spent in Indianapolis - James was named to four Pro Bowls and rushed for 12,246 yards, which ranks 13th on the all-time list.

In eight seasons with the Lions, Spielman started all 124 games he suited up for in Detroit. Including his time in Tampa, Lynch recorded 1,054 career tackles, 13.0 sacks, 26 interceptions and 16 forced fumbles.

The list of Modern-era players will be reduced to 25 Semifinalists in November, and to 15 Finalists in January.

James, the greatest running back in Colts franchise history, last year was a Hall of Fame finalist for the third time in four years, but ultimately did not get the nod into Canton.

The list of former 49ers who are nominees for the 2020 class includes Jeff Garcia, Ricky Watters, Brent Jones, Bryant Young, Merton Hanks and Tim McDonald.

The Centennial Class of 2020 will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame during the annual Enshrinement Week from August 6-9, 2020, and the Centennial Celebration in Canton on September 16-19, 2020. The selection committee for this year's class includes football historians, current voters and Hall of Famers. The class will include 10 seniors, three contributors and two coaches.

"The Hall of Fame Board recently passed a resolution that suspended the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee By-Laws for the Class of 2020 election cycle only", a press release from the Pro Football Hall of Fame reads.