Smith, Warner named in Australia's CWC squad

Josh Hazelwood might be the unlucky quick bowler among Australia's World Cup contenders

Josh Hazelwood might be the unlucky quick bowler among Australia's World Cup contenders

David Warner and Steve Smith have both been returned to the fold from their 12-month bans under captain Aaron Finch while Shaun Marsh and Usman Khawaja have been retained as batsmen with Peter Handscomb dropped.

Smith and Warner are now playing for Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively in the IPL after serving their 12-month ban for their role in the ball-tampering scandal that rocked Australian cricket previous year.

Chairman of Selectors Trevor Hohns said that while Hazlewood would miss out on the World Cup he would be a big part of Australia's plans for the Ashes.

Hazlewood recently recovered from a back injury that kept him out of action since January and had admitted to being nervous about Australia's selection for the World Cup.

They have played in this season's Indian Premier League (IPL) for Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively.

Both players also regained their Cricket Australia contracts as the country's new list of contracted players was announced - less than three weeks after becoming eligible for global selection again after bans imposed for their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa previous year. A top-order batsman who can also double up as a back-up wicketkeeper, Handscomb's good recent form had made him a strong contender in the Australia line-up.

But Josh Hazlewood and Peter Handscomb - who scored his maiden one-day hundred in India last month - have not been included.

Pacemen Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff are among the surprise inclusions. Australia whitewashed Pakistan by 5-0 in an ODI series in UAE held in March this year.

"Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15", said Hohns.

"(Smith and Warner are) both ... world class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL". "Our focus is to have Josh back bowling at his best for the commencement of a big Ashes Tour", Hohns was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz. Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff complete the five-men pace attack.

Australia will play one two spinner, Adam Zampa and Nathan Lyon, while playing two all-rounders, Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis.