Carlos Queiroz furious over Iran Nike World Cup football boots snub

Nike to Withhold Iranian Soccer Team's Shoes for World Cup Over US Sanctions

Nike to Withhold Iranian Soccer Team's Shoes for World Cup Over US Sanctions

"U.S. sanctions mean that, as a US company, Nike can not supply shoes to players in the Iranian national team at this time", the company said in a statement obtained by the news outlet.

Iran's Portuguese coach Carlos Queiroz talks to media during a training session in Bakovka outside Moscow on June 12, 2018, ahead of the Russian Federation 2018 World Cup soccer tournament.

Iran coach Carlos Queiroz believes his players have been brought closer together by Nike's decision to cut their supply of World Cup kit to the team but the acid test will come against Morocco on Friday (Jun 14).

The backdrop to the development is the Trump administration's recent decision to withdraw from the worldwide nuclear deal made three years ago, and to intensify the restrictions against Iran.

Nike added that sanctions applicable to its business "have been in place for many years and are enforceable by law". However, players from Iran will need to resort to individually purchasing boots for the tournament or simply asking to borrow footwear from friends or teammates. "We know their team very well but I suspect they know very little about us".

Nike's abrupt withdrawal of support from Iran's national soccer team just days before their opening match in the World Cup has left the team scrambling to find shoes for the tournament.

Sports Illustrated reported most teams in the World Cup - an global tournament played every four years - have a footwear sponsor.

Nike have refused to supply Iran with football boots for the upcoming World Cup. A warm-up exhibition match with Greece was cancelled at the last minute due to political concerns and basic tasks, such as booking hotels and flights or doing anything that involves transferring money, require workarounds because of the sanctions against Iran.

Team B pool comprises of Iran, Spain, Portugal and Morocco.