Three Kenya electoral commissioners quit

Three top officials of Kenya's elections body quit citing leadership failure

Three top officials of Kenya's elections body quit citing leadership failure

Speaking to journalists Monday in Nairobi, Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission official Margaret Mwachanya said the head of the electoral body has failed.

Chiloba is the current IEBC Chief Executive Officer who was sent on a three-month compulsory by Chairman Wafula Chebukati for investigations into "major procurement issues".

IEBC vice-chairperson Connie Nkatha Maina and commissioners Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat said they had left the commission because they have no faith in chairman Wafula Chebukati and his leadership.

"Instead, under the leadership, the Commission boardroom has become a venue for peddling misinformation, grounds for brewing mistrust, and a space for scrambling for and chasing individual glory and credit", the commissioners said in a statement.

Chebukati said he had learned of the resignations through the media, and would comment later. "And pursuing of personal interests", the commissioners said in a statement.

This follows Monday resignation of three officials from the commission in a surprise move. By law, the commission must have four active members to carry out business.

The head of the Electoral Law and Governance Institute in Africa, Felix Odhiambo, says the overhaul of the commission means it will be hard to know what happened in 2017 presidential vote. "Where does this leave election management in this country?"

Additionally, they mentioned that the removal of the Commission CEO, Ezra Chiloba, is a weighty matter and ought not to have been introduced as "a by a way". Kenya's opposition claimed some commissioners in Kenya's six-member electoral authority were complicit in electoral fraud in the August 8 election in which Uhuru Kenyatta was declared the victor but was then nullified by the Supreme Court.

The commission conducted another election in October, President Uhuru Kenyatta won that vote in a landslide, after challenger Raila Odinga pulled out of the race.