New Gmail Is Bringing Major Updates, Including Self Destructing Mails

The Upcoming Gmail Update Includes Timebombed Messages

The Upcoming Gmail Update Includes Timebombed Messages

The Google users can see these changes for themselves very soon.

Google is set to overhaul the design of Gmail in next couple of weeks and now details of a few new features, including self destructing emails, have leaked online.

When the recipient receives the email they will get a plain text email saying "this message was sent with Gmail's confidential mode".

Other new features that will be introduced include smart replies and a column on the right side for Google widgets such as calendar or a to-do list. The new design is said to also come with a feature that would ensure only the recipient can view an e-mail and that too for a specific period of time. There will also be a snooze feature which lets you snooze conversations and allows you to temporarily delete the emails from your inbox for a selected time limit.

"We're working on some major updates to Gmail (they're still in draft phase)". Notably, it looks like recipients of the confidential email will have to log into their Google accounts once again to read the email.

TechCrunch first confirmed the feature, including screenshots that reveal how it will work.

When a user composes a new email, there will be a small icon called Confidential Mode.

It's likely that Google will officially unveil the new Gmail for desktop at its I/O developers event which begins on May 8.

When the update rolls out across the world, it's expected that you will be able to click a little lock icon whilst typing an email to set an "expiry date". You are then given the option to choose an expiration date for the message.

There will also be an option that will require a passcode, that's sent over SMS in order to open a message. Not to mention if users OR senders are utilising POP3/IMAP/SMTP to access their inbox.

For messages that are sent in confidential mode and received using a mail client like Outlook or Apple Mail, users will simply receive a message with a link that opens in a browser where the security features will be invoked. "You can open it by clicking on this link".