Karnataka Assembly Election: 15 Women in Congress List

Win in Karnataka would be a huge psychological thing for the Congress which would then plot to upset the BJP's apple-cart in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh where Assembly polls are to be held by year-end.

According to Congress General Secretary Mukul Wasnik, who released the list in the national capital, the candidates were selected by the party's Central Election Committee from the names its screening committee recommended after a two-day meeting in New Delhi on April 9-10.

Addressing a press conference following the acquittal of all five accused in the Mecca Masjid blast case, BJP leader Sambit Patra launched a vitriolic attack on the grand old party claiming that Congress now "stands exposed". Senior Congress leader's son Priyank Kharge was given a ticket and he will contest the polls from the Chitapur (Reserved) seat in Gulbarga district.

He said he and his mother were struggling to come to terms with their unfathomable loss and hence would not like to contest.

The party said it has left the Melukota Assembly seat (AC-188) for one of its partners. He however offered his fullest cooperation to any candidate the party selected. Sitting MLAs who were denied a ticket include Basavaraj Shivannavar from Badgy, Manohar Tehsildar from Hangal, Shiv Moorti Nayak from Mycunda, Turuverevere from Shriniwas and Sharabsherry from Tiptur. When the police was presenting before the court, he did not let them.

Meanwhile, BJP is also on an outreach mission to woo the dalits.

The party is yet to announce its candidates for the Sindagi, Kittur, Nagathana, Melukote, Raichur and Shantinagar assembly seats.

The elections for the Karnataka are scheduled to take place on May 12 and the counting of votes will take place on May 15.