SP defeats BJP in UP Lok Sabha polls

Visual of counting of votes from a counting centre in UP's Pipraich

Visual of counting of votes from a counting centre in UP's Pipraich

CPI leader D Raja also said the results showed that the BJP was not invincible.

In January, the BJP lost Rajasthan's Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha seats to the Congress in bypolls in the state where it had won all the 25 seats in the last elections.

Uttar Pradeshs ruling BJP was leading in the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency while the opposition SP was ahead in Phulpur after three hours of counting for the parliamentary by-elections, Election Commission officials said. The BJP won the other (Bhabua) seat.

Samajwadi Party registers big win in Phulpur, Nagendra Patel wins by 59,613 votes.

The twin defeats in UP has particular significance for the BJP because it is this state that had given it the absolute majority in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls with an incredible 71 out of the 80 seats in its kitty. He has so far got 44,979 votes as against BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla who has so far polled 43,456 votes.

Phulpur, once represented by the countrys first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 Lok Sabha election when Maurya won the seat. While the RJD candidate Kumar Krishna Mohan alias Uday Yadav won the Jehanabad Assembly seat, BJP candidate Rinki Rani Pandey was declared victor from the Bhabhua Assembly seat.

The first bypoll shock for BJP came in from Madhya Pradesh's Ratlam constituency in November 2015.

But the continued drumbeat of BJP victories, most recently in the Left bastion of Tripura, seems to have convinced Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati to change her mind.

Both the seats saw a consolidation of OBC, dalit and Muslim votes.

Another setback for the BJP came from Punjab's Gurdaspur in 2017.

CPI (M) MP Mohammed Salim also welcomed the outcome of the bypolls and said it would have its impact on next year's Lok Sabha polls.

The RJD retained the Jehanabad Assembly seat, with its nominee Suday Yadav defeating his JD (U) rival Abhiram Sharma by more than 30,000 votes.

"BJP has suffered a humiliating loss in the Lok Sabha seats held by the CM & Dy CM of UP". The bypolls were necessitated by the death of BJP MPs Sanwarlal Jat (Ajmer) and Mahant Chand Nath Yogi (Alwar). One could underplay the BJP losses in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh by attributing them to anti-incumbency because the governments in these two states were in the last year of their five-year term. The party candidate lost narrowly against Adityanath in the 1999 polls.

The BJP also won Vadodara, which has been its traditional stronghold seat. He alleged BJP losing the elections indicate that their leaders have no will power to work for development.

BREAKING: BJP's lead in Gorakhpur now reduced to 1600. The court asked Uttar Pradesh Chief Secretary to take disciplinary action against both the IAS officers, but Rautela continues to serve as district magistrate of Gorakhpur, Singh is the district magistrate of Kanpur (Dehat).