Rosenqvist leads Formula E championship after Marrakesh win



Throughout the race, Buemi was followed closely by Bird while Rosenqvist followed behind the pair in third place.

Sweden's Felix Rosenqvist took the lead in the Formula E championship for the first time on Saturday after winning the third race of the season in Marrakesh for India's Mahindra Racing.

Rosenqvist was only third until just before the mid-race auto swaps, but took advantage of a slowing Sam Bird to grab second and then caught and overtook Buemi in the second stint.

"Last year was the point where we learnt what we needed to do to and this year we did it", said Rosenqvist after rounding off a celebratory donut off the track.

Buemi crossed the line in second place, just under one second behind the Swedish driver while Bird stood on the final step of the podium.

Alex Lynn qualified sixth just in front of the Jaguar Panasonic Racing auto of Nelson Piquet Jr, and Daniel Abt was unlucky to only qualify in eighth after he had to abort a much faster lap when Antonio Felix da Costa smashed into the barriers and brought out the red flag.

That promoted Nick Heidfeld to seventh, with Andretti's debutant Tom Blomqvist scoring points in eighth and Nico Prost and Alex Lynn recovering from being punted into separate spins to complete the top 10. Abt was subsequently handed a drive-through penalty which relegated him out of what could have been a strong points finish, meaning that he finished in 12th place.

That meant Mortara failed to finish, joining Oliver Turvey - who only had one usable auto after getting wheeled off the grid - Andre Lotterer and Lucas di Grassi in retirement.

It was a return to form as well for reigning champion Lucas di Grassi who finished second after the opening session of qualifying, although he'll be disappointed to start down in fifth after a technical problem blighted his superpole lap.