Chipper and Andruw Jones on the baseball Hall of Fame ballot

Chipper Jones highlights newcomers on 2018 Hall of Fame ballot

Chipper Jones highlights newcomers on 2018 Hall of Fame ballot

They are joined by Johan Santana and Chris Carpenter.

Included in the list of 19 first-time candidates on the Baseball Writers' Association of America's ballot are ex-Giants Omar Vizquel and Livan Hernandez, along with one-time A's Jason Isringhausen and Hideki Matsui. Trevor Hoffman fell five votes short of 75 percent a year ago and should be in prime position to make it this time.

It will be a crowded ballot for players seeking to be a part of the National Baseball Hall of Fame's 2018 class.

Former Toronto Blue Jays and Philadelphia Phillies star pitcher Roy Halladay will not appear on the 2018 BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot for 2018 but will be eligible for the 2019 ballot, the BBWAA announced. A player who dies less than five full years after retiring is eligible in the next election six months after his death or at the end of the five-year wait after his retirement, whichever comes first. Vladimir Guerrero (who was at 71.7 percent last year) should also be in good shape. A player must receive at least 75 percent for election. Ballots are due by December 31 and results will be announced January 24.

Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines and Ivan Rodriguez were elected a year ago, when Hoffman drew 74 percent. Clemens rose from 37.5 percent in 2015 to 45.2 percent in 2016, while Bonds climbed from 36.8 percent in 2015 to 44.3 percent in 2016.

Other holdovers include Manny Ramirez (23.8), Larry Walker (21.9), Fred McGriff (21.7), Jeff Kent (16.7), Gary Sheffield (13.3), Billy Wagner (10.2) and Sammy Sosa (8.6).