Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year

Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor won the 2017 Manager of the Year awards. More

Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor won the 2017 Manager of the Year awards. More

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo was named National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday.

Lovullo, in his first season with Arizona, managed the team to a 93-69 record - 24 more wins than last season, the second-largest win increase from 2016 among all teams - and into the playoffs for the first time since 2011.

Under Molitor and Lovullo, the Twins made their first postseason since 2010, and the D-backs made their first playoffs since '11. In the BBWAA balloting, Lovullo prevailed over his fellow award finalists and fellow NL West managers, Dave Roberts of the Dodgers and Bud Black of the Rockies.

How's that for a rookie campaign? He joins Bob Melvin (2007) and Kirk Gibson (2011) as the only Arizona managers to win the award.

Roberts received five first-place votes while Black and Counsell received three apiece. They ended up losing to the Yankees in a brief playoff appearance. "An award like this reflects the work of the organization and everyone who contributed to the Twins having a turnaround season". Updates with Molitor winning AL Manager of the Year.

Francona, who won the award previous year, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row. In fact, he is now just the second person to make the Hall of Fame as a player and then go on to become a Manager of the Year.

Molitor received 18 first-place votes, six second-place votes, and four third-place votes. The Cleveland Indians' Terry Francona, the 2016 victor, was the runner-up with 11 first-place votes. Former Yankees manager Joe Girardi also received votes.

Lovullo won the honor in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.