Munster pack lift Reds to third win on the spin

Scott Baldwin Dan Baker Bradley Davies and Adam Beard of Ospreys look dejected

Scott Baldwin Dan Baker Bradley Davies and Adam Beard of Ospreys look dejected

The Ospreys succumbed to their second defeat of the Guinness PRO14 season, going down 21-16 to a strong Munster side at the Liberty Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

A stunning first-half effort from inside centre James Hook could not stop Rassie Erasmus' side who scored two tries of their own before the break through South African lock Jean Kleyn and winger Darren Sweetnam.

James Hook scythed through Munster's defence to open the try-scoring, but the visitors dominated the rest of the opening period.

Munster's scrum superiority and breakdown work would have impressed watching Ireland forwards' coach Simon Easterby, but the second half was far from a classic.

Munster started with a bang, but Bleyendaal missed two simple kicks at goal and Jaco Taute's clean run to the try line was ruled out for a forward pass. Munster: Kleyn, Sweetnam try each; Bleyendaal con, Bleyendaal 3 pens.

Sam Davies' three penalties brought the Ospreys back to within two points, but Munster were ultimately too strong for their hosts on what was a disappointing afternoon for the Swansea based region.

Two quick scores from Kleyn and Sweetnam, plus a conversion from Bleyendaal, gave last season's finalists a 15-7 half-time lead.

Despite their physical dominance, the Munstermen could not shake off a gutsy Ospreys side and Steve Tandy's men clawed their way back into the game through a series of penalties from Welsh global out-half Davies.

In the end, though, it wasn't enough to seal victory and Bleyendaal's late kick with three minutes to go sealed Munster's victory.

Ospreys: Evans (Biggar 78); Giles, Allen ( Fonotia 54), Hook, Hassler; S Davies, Habberfield; James (Smith 40), Parry (Baldwin 40), Fia (Jones 75), B Davies, Ashley (Beard 52), Lydiate (Mercer 52), Tipuric, Baker.

Munster: Conway (Zebo 64); Sweetnam, Farrell, Taute (R Scannell 55), Wootton; Bleyendaal, Williams; L O'Connor (Cronin 52), Marshall (N Scannell 52), Archer (Ryan 52), Kleyn, Holland, S O'Connor (Copeland 66), O'Donnell, O'Donoghue.

Replacements not used: Wycherley, Hart.