Indian Squad announced for Sri Lanka ODIs and T20I

Will Dhoni Raina and Yuvraj find themselves in the same XI again? / Getty

Will Dhoni Raina and Yuvraj find themselves in the same XI again? / Getty

In the bowling department, Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal were picked as the spin-bowling options to go with Kuldeep Yadav, who is already in Sri Lanka for the Test series.

Manish Pandey, who had a successful outing as the India "A" captain recently in a tri-series involving South Africa and Afghanistan, makes his comeback to the Indian squad after his absence from the Champions Trophy side due to injury.

The selectors made a decision to rest four frontline bowlers - Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja. Manish Pandey, who had a great triangular series in South Africa has been rewarded for his performance.

From India's previous ODI assignment, the tour of the West Indies in June-July, the other players to be dropped are the 19-year-old Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik. Rohit had been rested from the tour of Windies after the Champions Trophy, the last limited-overs series India played.

Rahul's inclusion means there will be four regular openers in the squad and it is likely that the Karnataka batsman will be playing in the middle order. The series starts on August 20 and ends on September 3.

India for Sri Lanka ODIs & T20I - Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.

The five-match ODI series against Sri Lanka will commence on August 20.